Online Reference Collections
- Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window 350+ titles in the humanities and social sciences, including the Blackwell companions and handbooks. Strengths are psychology, sociology, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window Online version of the Cambridge Companions; offers introductions to major writers, artists, topics and periods within the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion and culture.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window Contains all titles of the Cambridge Histories series. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Review essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window Scholarly, continuously-updated encyclopedias, designed to provide contextual guidance at the start of research projects on unfamiliar topics. Full access to the American History Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Social Work, with some free content in all other subjects.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window DRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
The Ancient World
Mosaic of Asclepius' arrival at Kos (color slide by Helmut Koester; Andover-Harvard Theological Library, Harvard Divinity School, 71F13)
Brill's New Pauly
Brill s New Pauly is the first lexicographic project that both differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity itself and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath. Volumes 1 to 15 (Antiquity) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity. Volumes I to V (Classical Tradition) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of the classical heritage. Index Antiquity relates to the 15 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with Antiquity. Index The Classical Tradition, relates to the 5 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with the Classical Tradition.
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
- Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online I This link opens in a new window Full text companions on a variety of classical authors, historical figures, genres and places.
- Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online II This link opens in a new window Full text companions to classical authors and genres.
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean
A three-volume reference work of 97 original essays on the people, customs, government, religion, and arts of the ancient world, from 2000 B.C. to the fall of Rome in A.D.476. Structured to present a comparative rather than chronological study of Greek and Roman institutions and life. The essays are
Call Number: Available via HathiTrust
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, andRoman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format.The articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, andreligion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, andmyths.Areas covered include:* Greek and Latin Literature* Authors and Their Works* Historical Figures and Events* Religion and Mythology* Art, Artists, Artistic Themes, and Materials* Archaeology, Philosophers, and Philosophical Schools* Science and Technology* Politics, Economics, and Society* Material Culture and Everyday Life
