Start Here!
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowA scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowReview essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
Search Across Smith's Scholarly Encyclopedias
Search for encyclopedias and more:
Reference Universe indexes the contents of thousands of print and online reference titles, with links to Smith College Libraries holdings.
Search tips: try simple words/phrases (e.g. refugee*, American Expeditionary Force)
The Roman Empire
Use the sources below for background, context, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and (sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
- Ancient writers: Greece and RomeCall Number: ref PA 3002 .A5 1982Additional copies in Oversize (Level A core) may be checked out
- Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online I This link opens in a new window Full text companions on a variety of classical authors, historical figures, genres and places.
- Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online II This link opens in a new window Full text companions to classical authors and genres.
- Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online III This link opens in a new window Full text companions to classical authors, historical figures, and topics.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Cambridge Ancient History, etc.
- Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and RomeCall Number: ref DE 59 .C55 1988
- Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference LiteratureCall Number: ref PA 91 .J4 2006
- Companion to Families in the Greek and Roman WorldsCall Number: stacks HQ 511 .C66 2011
- Encyclopedia of the Roman EmpireCall Number: ref DG 270 .B86 2002
- Handbook to Life in Ancient RomeCall Number: ref DG 77 .A35 2004
- Sport in the Ancient World from A to ZCall Number: ref GV 573 .G654 2004
