Librarian
Data & Social Sciences Librarian
Discover
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Google connections
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Library Links (Settings menu) for Smith access to articles. Many sources are also available as "open source." ALSO use Cited By to find more recent resources.
-
Google Books This link opens in a new windowSearch and preview books and chapters. Then check Discover Advanced (catalog only) for Smith access.
Specific Databases for GOV 347
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information related to agricultural and environmental issues.
-
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 1991+ This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs including journals, books, working papers, NGO papers, proceedings policy briefs and more.
Among the many databases and resources in Discover, you'll find JSTOR, EconLit, GreenFile, open access papers, scholarly blogs, and these:
-
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new windowIncludes limit by time period researched
-
America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new windowCovers U.S. and Canada, including political issues up to the present. Allows limit by decade researched.
-
Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new windowSocial Science and Sciences coverage, and Cited Reference searching.
News Databases
-
ENN: Environmental News Networkread news on policy and scientific topics.
-
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
-
PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess the most current editions of over 4,000 newspapers & magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages.
-
AllAfrica 1996+ This link opens in a new windowMore than one million news articles about all countries on the African continent. Approx. 75% English; 25% French.
-
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowSearch full text news and law review sources.
-
Westlaw Campus Research (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowChoose NEWS for news articles, transcripts and more. Also search for U.S. legal sources and law journals, including immigration in SECONDARY SOURCES.