Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
. Discover: Start here for books, articles & more
Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area; from Oxford University Press.
Dictionary of Literary Biography [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Lengthy literary biographies by recognized literary scholars and critics, covering past & present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
ARTFL, American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language This link opens in a new window
From the University of Chicago, offers 2,000 texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences from the 13th to the 20th centuries; with dictionaries.
CAIRN 2001+ This link opens in a new window
Full text social science & humanities journals published in France and Belgium.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) [Gale] 1701-1800 This link opens in a new window
Includes every significant English- and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
Humanities Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews of plays, television, and radio from 465+ sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of women's writing in English from the 16th through 19th centuries. With coverage of drama, fiction and non-fiction, and verse, provides an unparalleled view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period.
Ask Us - Meet with Us
Meet with Us
Contact: Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians