Course Materials
- FRN 340 eReservesSmith links for ebooks, articles, films on streaming video
Search for secondary sources
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
- PerseeSearch backfiles of full-text French-language articles on many subjects.
- CAIRN 2001+ This link opens in a new windowFull text social science & humanities journals published in France and Belgium.
- MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new windowIncludes limits for time period studied and language.
Background and reference sources
Diderot's Encyclopédie OnlineUse to locate a complete version of the Encyclopédie including both text and plates - specifically its ARTFL Encyclopédie Project. To find articles, plates, or to run a full-text search on any words mentioned in the Encyclopédie, use the Search Page.- DictionnairesFind links to French dictionaries on Smith's subject guide
Databases
- ARTFL, American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language This link opens in a new windowFrom the University of Chicago, offers 2,000 texts in literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences from the 13th to the 20th centuries; with dictionaries.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) [Gale] 1701-1800 This link opens in a new windowIncludes every significant English- and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Librarian
Data & Social Sciences Librarian