Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Guides & Style Manuals
Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
MLA Format (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
Format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Zotero ("zoh-TAIR-oh") is a free research tool that allows you to:
- Collect & organize citations.
- Attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations.
- Cite sources within your paper/thesis.
- Create a bibliography in any citation style.
- Share Zotero libraries (folders).
It's easy to use, and best of all, it's free. Zotero works with Chrome, Firefox and Safari, which allows you to work directly from your web browser. Learn more at Zotero.org.
Search Discover: French Studies
Explore thousands of books and catalogs, images and other media, articles, reviews, and more with Smith's cross-database search.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [EBSCO] 1949+ This link opens in a new windowCovers religious and theological scholarship in 1,400 international journals and 14,000 books. Includes citations and some full text.
CAIRN 2001+ This link opens in a new window
Full text social science & humanities journals published in France and Belgium.
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus [ProQuest] 1966+ This link opens in a new windowLists articles on films and film studies, plus information on silent films; film archives, libraries & educational institutions; and on FIAF books, pamphlets, programs & other materials.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowLinks to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new windowCovers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new windowExtensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
Choose All Nexis Uni, then News on the menu to select News by Language
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
RetroNews 1631-1951 This link opens in a new window
Digitized articles from ~1500 French national, regional, local and colonial newspapers, covering over three centuries.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access the most current editions of over 4,000 newspapers & magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages. Viewable on PCs, smartphones & tablets.
Get help from Sika Berger