Environmental Science Databases
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information related to agricultural and environmental issues.
- Biological Abstracts [Web of Science] 1926+ This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in the life sciences and biomedical fields: biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, zoology, agriculture, etc.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window BioOne Complete is aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences; 43% of titles are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete. BioOne is a nonprofit publisher.
- EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements [ProQuest] 1985+ This link opens in a new window Detailed indexing & abstracting for environmental impact statements issued by the federal government. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive & negative consequences, plus legal mandates.
- Engineering Village 1884+ This link opens in a new window Smith’s access to the Engineering Village platform includes Ei Compendex (1884-present), which is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available. It also includes GEOBASE, which covers international geoscience literature (1973-present).
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies [Gale] This link opens in a new window Focuses on environmental issues around topics such as earth systems, energy, global change, land & water use, legislation & policy, and population. Draws on academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistical data, and rich multimedia. Navigate by issue, organization, and state & province.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index [EBSCO] 1990+ This link opens in a new window Covers horticulture, garden/landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant/garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
- General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new window Provides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
- Geobase 1973+ This link opens in a new window Lists research literature on earth sciences: geology, geography, environmental science, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy, pollution, waste management & conservation. Covers journals, trade publications, book & conference proceedings.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
- Zoological Record [Web of Science] 1864+ This link opens in a new window The leading database of animal biology, taxonomic reference, and unofficial register of animal names. Coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.
Social Science and Policy Databases
- EconLit with Full Text [EBSCO] 1969+ This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1 million articles on capital markets; country studies; forecasting; environmental, labor and urban economics, government regulation, monetary theory, etc. 400+ journals full text.
- PAIS International [ProQuest] 1915+ This link opens in a new window Covers current affairs, social and public policy issues in articles, books, hearings, reports, government publications, Internet resources, and more from 120 countries.
- Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] 1952+ This link opens in a new window Abstracts for articles in 1,800+ journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science] 1898+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
- Westlaw Campus Research (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Federal and state legal materials, American Jurisprudence 2d, American Law Reports (ALR), and 900+ law journals and U.S./international news sources full text.
Other Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
- Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window (Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
- BrowZine This link opens in a new window Search online journals from Smith's collection and from open-access titles. Create your own bookshelf, create alerts, and sync across devices. See help for more information and download instructions for mobile version.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library 1872+ This link opens in a new window Full text journals across the fields of electrical and biomedical engineering, communications, computer science, aerospace, energy, robotics, etc.. Also contains IEEE conference proceedings, standards and added content from IET, VDE & Bell Lab.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window Science, technology, and engineering research information (articles, datasets) from the U.S. Department of Energy.
