Course Resources
Welcome to the ENG 310rw-01, Renaissance Women Authors: Shakespeare’s Sisters & the Art of Self- Fashioning Class Guide! Here, you will find a variety of resources that have been chosen specifically for the content and research assignments in this course. On this page, you will find the best bets for any initial research of your research topic. From there, you can explore the other tabs as you dig deeper into your research.
Getting Started
- Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window 350+ titles in the humanities and social sciences, including the Blackwell companions and handbooks. Strengths are psychology, sociology, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window Online version of the Cambridge Companions; offers introductions to major writers, artists, topics and periods within the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion and culture.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Review essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window DRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present. Entries include spelling, pronunciation, derivation, meaning, and usage. 2nd ed (1989)+ updates.
- Middle English Dictionary The world's largest searchable database of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. An invaluable resource for lexicographers, language scholars, and all scholars in medieval studies.
