Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the Meaning of Words
Oxford English Dictionary
Call Number: ref PE 1625 .O87 1989
The "OED" is the standard historical dictionary of English. If you're just checking a quick meaning, either print or database will do. More complex searching requires use of the database.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present. Entries include spelling, pronunciation, derivation, meaning, and usage. 2nd ed (1989)+ updates.
Online Literary Texts
Literature Online (LION) [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable library of 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism and reference sources.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
Index to 450,000 poems; 250,000 full text. With commentaries; biographies; a glossary; foreign language poetry; translations; and audio recordings.
Find the Meaning of an Obscure Reference
Starting Places -- Or what to do when you have no clue what that means
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area; from Oxford University Press.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains all titles of the Cambridge Histories series. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window
350+ titles in the humanities and social sciences, including the Blackwell companions and handbooks. Strengths are psychology, sociology, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Scribner Writers Online [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Online versions of American Writers, British Writers, European Writers, and World and Genre Writers.
Use these sources to find the facts about a life including lists of writings.
Handbook to Literature
Call Number: ref PN 41 .H355 2012
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Call Number: ref PN 1021 .N39 1993
Book of Forms: A Handbook of Poetry and Criticism
Call Number: ref PN 1042 .T8 2000
Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Call Number: ref PN 56 .S9 F47 2007
Get help from Cat Hannula