Search Discover: Study of Women and Gender
Explore thousands of books and catalogs, images and other media, articles, reviews, and more with Smith's cross-database search.
Finding Articles
For magazine and scholarly journal articles use the following databases:
-
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
-
ARTbibliographies Modern [ProQuest] 1974+ This link opens in a new window Covers late 19th- through 21st-century fine arts, decorative arts, design, and photography in periodicals, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and books published throughout the world.
-
Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window Includes articles, reviews, reproductions from more than 420 periodicals. Provides international coverage for all aspects of the visual arts.
-
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the social sciences and humanities; with citations to book reviews.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
Book Suggestions
-
Feminist Coalitions: Historical Perspectives on Second-Wave Feminism in the United States
Search and partial preview in Google Books. -
Moving the Mountain: The Women's Movement in America Since 1960
Search / preview: Google Books -
Yours in Sisterhood: Ms. Magazine and the Promise of Popular Feminism
Call Number: SC Special Collections Browsing / PN4900.M77 F37 1998Search & preview: Google Books
