Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research in Chinese
To locate full-text scholarly articles written in Chinese use China Academic Journals and remember to search using simplified Chinese. For citations to articles written in journals published in Taiwan, search Periopath using traditional Chinese and request the articles through interlibrary loan. For articles about Hong Kong cinema published in Chinese journals, use traditional Chinese and search HKInChiP.
Here are some other websites related to Chinese film:
中文电影资料库 Chinese Movie Database
Chinese Movie Database is the database of mainly Chinese language movies. The Database include 1) movies whose main dialogue is in standardised spoken Chinese (mandarin or putonghua) or regional dialects (e.g. Cantonese), 2) early (1910-1930’s) silent movies made by Chinese filmmakers, 3) movies not in Chinese but set in China, or are closely related to Chinese society, culture and history, and 4) movies not in Chinese but in which Chinese talents play important or starring roles.
Asian Film Archive
The Asian Film Archive is a non-governmental organisation founded to preserve the rich film heritage of Singapore and Asian Cinema, to encourage scholarly research on film, and to promote a wider critical appreciation of this art form.
Film Studies Center, National Central University
Research in English
Please consult this subject guide on Film Studies for recommended databases and resources that cover English language scholarship on Chinese film.
UC San Diego's Chinese Cinema program is probably the best in North America. Please see Yingjin ZHANG's website for recommended bibliography, must-see films, stills and posters, etc.
For basic information about Chinese movies, biographical information about actors & directors, awards posters, and links to DVDs for sale, don't forget to consult the Chinese Movie Database in English (or Chinese if you prefer)
You can find reviews in English about Hong Kong (and some China and Taiwan) films at LoveHKFilm.com
The Modern Chinese Literature and Culture Resource Center has an image archive for Chinese films. Here you will find stills from many of the famous Chinese movies, divided by time period.
How to Find Films in the Library Catalog
If you know the title of a film or an actor or director's name, use that to search. If you are just casting about for available films, try this.
Use the Advanced Search:
format = DVDs