Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles not owned by Smith. Articles are supplied as PDFs and usually arrive in just a few days.
Some Additional Resources
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more
Core Databases for China, the Environment, and Policy
Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.
- Use the buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format
- If you identify an article
from another source, use the Journal Locator
(see box on left)
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Focuses on environmental issues around topics such as earth systems, energy, global change, land & water use, legislation & policy, and population. Draws on academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistical data, and rich multimedia. Navigate by issue, organization, and state & province.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information related to agricultural and environmental issues.
Geobase 1973+ This link opens in a new window
Lists research literature on earth sciences: geology, geography, environmental science, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy, pollution, waste management & conservation. Covers journals, trade publications, book & conference proceedings.
Agricola [EBSCO] 1970+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,000+ journals and books, conference proceedings, research reports, government documents, theses, patents, and more on all aspects of agriculture.
Bibliography of Asian Studies [EBSCO] 1971+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes western-language books and articles on all parts of Asia.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete is aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences; 43% of titles are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete. BioOne is a nonprofit publisher.
General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
PAIS International [ProQuest] 1915+ This link opens in a new window
Covers current affairs, social and public policy issues in articles, books, hearings, reports, government publications, Internet resources, and more from 120 countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Librarian Contacts - 2021
Rocco Piccinino is no longer with Smith College Libraries.
Please use Ask Us to contact other research librarians.