This is a digitized copy of a book published by John Batchelor, an English missionary to the Ainu in Hokkaido from the mid-19th century to the early 20th century. The book contains much information about Ainu culture, society, religion, and many photographs of the Ainu people, their clothing, houses, and tools before heavy assimilation into mainstream Japanese culture.

Another book by John Batchelor, published before the Ainu and their Folklore, records Batchelor's initial reactions to and thoughts on the Ainu, as well as descriptions of clothing, daily life, Ainu polytheism and rituals such as burial, even including a section on "Prehistoric Times in Japan".

This book was written by Frederick Starr, the man who traveled to Hokkaido and brought a group of Ainu people to be featured in 1904. In it Starr describes his travels in Hokkaido and the group of Ainu he brought to the United States. He also dedicates the book to John Batchelor.

This is a remarkable database that not only explains the structure from a linguistic perspective of the Ainu language as well as sound clips to hear sample sentences spoken, and also includes sound recordings of Ainu oral traditions. By clicking the "Open Corpus" button at the top right of the screen, the user will be led to a page listing Ainu Yukar with a sound recording as well as a translation for each sentence, so the user can hear the epic tales told by Ms. Kimi Kimura, an Ainu woman and native Ainu speaker.

This database is a resource for people wishing to learn about or study conversational Ainu. Because so many sources on the Ainu are folklore it is difficult to study Ainu spoken in conversation. By clicking the "Open Dictionary" button at the top right of the screen, users can go to the dictionary itself and listen to Ainu words, phrases and sentences divided into categories such as "Change of State", "Direction", and "Food". There are even several photographs included with dictionary entries and sound clips and well as a few videos recorded of the speaker reciting the words and phrases.

This book, available by each chapter or in full PDF format, was published by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United NationsCentre for Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition and Environment, and investigates and documents the food systems of indigenous peoples around the world. Chapter 7, "Traditional food systems of Indigenous Peoples: the Ainu in the Saru River Region, Japan", and explores the particular difficulties of tracking traditional Ainu foods and food systems because of the heavy assimilation into mainstream Japanese society, but as a result of this study efforts were made to re-introduce traditional Ainu foods to Ainu communities.

This database includes an explanation of Ainu oral traditions as well as several sound recordings of Kamuy Yukar and other Ainu oral traditions. Unfortunately, the links to the sound recordings do not work, but the database also lists audio and visual documentation of Ainu oral traditions as well as other institutions and organizations involved in preserving and promoting knowledge of Ainu culture and arts.

The National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics or NINJAL has many studies and sources concerning the Ainu language, including the "A Glossed Audio Corpus of Ainu Folklore" and "A Topical Dictionary of Conversational Ainu" databases listed already on this page, this study entitled "Hokkaido Ainu Dialects: Variation from the Perspective of the Geographical Distribution of Vocabulary" breaks down differences in Ainu vocabulary based on the different regions of Hokkaido.