CoPA-Online contains 55,000+ scanned images (garments & pattern schematics) from commercially produced patterns; unique tool to recreate or date clothing from 1847 to present.
The Commercial Pattern Archive database, CoPA-Online, is the brainchild of Joy Spanabel Emery (1936-2018), founding curator of the Commercial Pattern Archive at the University of Rhode Island. It provides a unique tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing from 1847 to present. Collections from the US, Canada and the UK are represented in the database which functions like a Union Catalog of pattern collections. The Pattern Archive is a project of the US Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT) Costume Commission. The cornerstone of CoPA is the Betty Williams Collection.
Major Image Database
Find images of actual garments, jewelry, and other dress accessories in museum collections as well as depictions of garments in sculpture, paintings, prints, and other two- and three-dimensional works of art.
Note: Artstor will soon be migrating to Jstor! If you use Artstor to upload or manage images, you can read more about the change here, or contact the Imaging Center.
This resource includes more than two million images. It includes collections specific to Smith College developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum. Using Artstor provides information about searching as well as using images in papers and presentations.