Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cotton Growth & Production
Agricola [EBSCO] 1970+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,000+ journals and books, conference proceedings, research reports, government documents, theses, patents, and more on all aspects of agriculture.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information related to agricultural and environmental issues.
Cotton Manufacturing & Trade
EconLit with Full Text [EBSCO] 1969+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1 million articles on capital markets; country studies; forecasting; environmental, labor and urban economics, government regulation, monetary theory, etc. 400+ journals full text.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Formerly Business Premium Collection. A comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
Not at Smith? Getting What You Need
Use the Library catalog to request delivery of books and media in other Five Colleges and in the Smith Library Annex.
Request books and media not available in the Five Colleges and articles not available on the Smith campus.
Books & Media
Five College Library Catalog
Access to the combined library holdings of Smith, Amherst, Hampshire, and Mount Holyoke Colleges, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Helpful terms for "subject keyword" searching for books and media about the cotton industry are:
--Diseases and pests
- Cotton growing
- Cotton textile industry
- Cotton manufacture
- Cotton gins and ginning
- Cotton trade
Refine your search by adding these "subject subheading" terms to your search:
- Names of specific countries, states, and cities
- Economic aspects
- Government policy
- Law and legislation