US Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
- Boston Globe [ProQuest] 1872+ MLIN This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Defender Historical [ProQuest] 1905-1975 This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Tribune Historical [ProQuest] 1849+ (lacks current 14 years) This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Times Historical [ProQuest] 1881+ (lacks current 14 years) This link opens in a new window
- New York Herald Tribune [ProQuest] 1841-1962 This link opens in a new window
- New York Times Historical [ProQuest] 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post Historical [ProQuest] 1877+ (lacks current 17 years) This link opens in a new window
British Newspapers/Magazines
- Times (London) Digital Archive [Gale] (lacks current 6 years) This link opens in a new window
- Times (London) Sunday Digital Archive [Gale] 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive [Gale] 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowWeekly newspaper, presenting a vivid picture of world events, including World War II and its aftermath.
- Punch [Gale] 1841-1992 This link opens in a new windowIconic British humor magazine, whose celebrated cartoons documented rapid technological, social, and political change in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Holocaust Testimony
- Visual History Archive Online (USC Shoah Foundation)"Public" version contains 1,200 English-language testimonies from Holocaust survivors. UMass has the full, subscription version.
The Online Catalog & Primary Sources
As you search in the online catalog, watch for the words "personal narratives," "diaries," "interviews," "correspondence," "pamphlets," and "sources" as part of the subject headings; these may point you to published primary sources in the library collections.
You can also search for these words, for example, women and jewish holocaust and (narratives or interviews or sources or diaries or correspondence)
Other clues may be buried in the title, authorship, date of publication, etc.
Primary Source Databases
- Women and Social Movements International [Alexander Street] 1840+ This link opens in a new windowIncludes conference proceedings, reports & publications of women's organizations, plus letters, diaries & memoirs of women active internationally. NOTE: You will see records for the items in this collection in the Five College catalog, too.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) [ProQuest] 1802 to 1995 This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the arts, humanities & social sciences, from their first issues to 1995.
Archives Unbound
- Archives Unbound [Gale] This link opens in a new windowHundreds of digital primary source collections on a variety of topics. See examples below for collections of interest for this course; within Archives Unbound, click on Collections / European Studies for more possibilities.
- Methodist Episcopal Church Archives: Missionary Activities, 1819-1952Focuses on the Methodist Episcopal missionary activities in Italy.
Other Useful Web Pages / Links
- Smith College Finding Aids (ArchivesSpace) This link opens in a new windowFinding aids to over 1,000 Smith College archival and manuscript collections. Provides in-depth information about a collection, and a box listing of the materials.
- Asteria (Five College Archives & Manuscript Collections) This link opens in a new window Search over 1,500 finding aids describing the archives and manuscripts found at the Five Colleges.
- Find Primary Sources Links to collections at Smith, in the Five Colleges, on the web, and via the library's many subscription databases.
- Find Images GuideHelp finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.
- United Nations Archives and Records ManagementThe United Nations Archives provides limited service via email request. Yale University is the closest United Nations depository library - see their guide below.
