Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More than two million images support research in a wide variety of subjects. Includes collections specific to Smith College developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum. Using Artstor
provides information about searching as well as using images in papers and presentations.
All About Mary Guide (University of Dayton)
A guide to different terms, symbols, and iconography of Mary.
Find Images Guide
Help finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.
A lexicon of Art and Science featuring paintings, pigments and scientific methods for investigation of works of art. Includes the stories behind the paintings, history of use of individual pigments, pigment properties and their identification in paintings, and more.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History | The Metropolitan Museum of Art
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Includes maps, time lines, thematic essays, and an index.
Index of Medieval Art
Documents over 200,000 works of art in all media produced from apostolic times through the 15th century with Christian themes or for ecclesiastical settings. Entries include bibliographies, scholarly commentaries, images