Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Reputable online sources. (Though, for scholarly content, it's easier and more efficient to use the databases.)
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [EBSCO] 1949+ This link opens in a new window
Covers religious and theological scholarship in 1,400 international journals and 14,000 books. Includes citations and some full text.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art 1975 to 2007 This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on post-classical western art in 2,500 periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations; with abstracts. See International Bibliography of Art for current coverage.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window
Covers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.