Primary Souces on the Web
- Archives nationales de France - Documents en ligneOnline document collections include:
- Résistance intérieure
- France libre et résistance extérieure - Visual History Archive"Public" version contains 1,200 English-language testimonies from Holocaust survivors; search by country of origin. UMass has the full, subscription version.
Images on the Web . . .
- AP Images [EBSCO] 1840+ This link opens in a new windowSelect Advanced Search
date range: 1936 to 1944
city: paris
- CorbisSelect Advanced Search
date photographed: 1940-1944
location: paris - Life Photo ArchiveSelect 1940s
Add AND paris
(so the search box reads: 1940 source:life and paris) - United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumHolocaust Encyclopedia - Paris photographs
- Find Images - Services, Rights & CitationsDescribes using images, including rights and how to cite.
The Online Catalog & Primary Sources
As you search in the online catalog, watch for the words "personal narratives," "diaries," "interviews," "correspondence," "pamphlets," and "sources" as part of the subject headings; these may point you to published primary sources in the library collections.
You can also search for these words, for example, paris and occupation and (diaries or narratives or correspondence or sources or pamphlets or interviews)
Other clues may be buried in the title, authorship, date of publication, etc.
The Online Catalog & Images
Books are an excellent source for images, containing images reproduced from archives and collections that might be difficult to access. Books of images will often include essays, memoirs, and other descriptive text to help contextualize the images (unlike Google Images).
Try these Subject Begins With searches in the online catalog:
- World War, 1939-1945 -- France -- Paris -- Pictorial works
- Paris (France) -- History --1940-1944 -- Pictorial works
- France -- History -- German occupation, 1940-1945 -- Pictorial works
