Comments & Questions
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Maps & Atlases
- Historical Atlas of IslamCall Number: ref G 1786 .S1 F7 2002
- Historical Atlas of the Middle EastCall Number: ref G 2206 .S1 F7 1993
General Background
Use
scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an
overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and
(sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineIncludes the Cambridge Modern History and other topical histories such as Cambridge History of Christianity, Cambridge History of Iran, Cambridge History of Islam, etc.
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (3 vols.)Call Number: ref E 183.7 .E52 2002
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa (4 vols.)Call Number: ref DS 43 .E53 2004
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 (3 vols.)Call Number: ref JV 22 .E535 2007
- Encyclopedia of Nationalism (2 vols.)Call Number: ref JC 311 .E52 2001
- World War I: Encyclopedia (5 vols.)Call Number: ref D 510 .E53 2005
- Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts (5 vols.)Call Number: ref DS 63.1 .E453 2010
- Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineReference content & commentary by renowned scholars, plus Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps & timelines. Includes Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and other core reference works on Islam.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd ed. (12 vols.)Call Number: ref DS 37 .E523
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2 vols.)Call Number: ref BP 40 .E525 2004
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Culture (5 vols.)Call Number: ref BP 173.4 .E538 2003
- Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān (6 vols.)Call Number: ref BP 133 .E539 2001
- Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (2 vols.)Call Number: ref BL 458 .E53 1999
- Encyclopedia of Religion (16 vols.)Call Number: ref BL 31 .E46 2005
Ask Us - Meet with Us
