Article Search Tips
Journal Locator
Search by journal title or citation for online and print journals.
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles that Smith does not offer online or in print.
Article databases - History
Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.
- Use the
buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format - If you identify an article from another source, use the Journal Locator (see box on left)
- Use interlibrary loan to request articles not at Smith (see box on left)
The major databases for European and English history:
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new windowCovers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History 1901+ This link opens in a new windowConsolidates over 50 existing bibliographies of books and articles, with many pre-1901 items; from the Royal Historical Society.
Other possibilities
Important note re: EBSCO databases:
- Within any of the EBSCO databases, you can click on Choose Database, select several EBSCO databases (e.g. Historical Abstracts, Gender Studies Database, etc.) and search them together.
- If you do this, be sure to use a variety of synonyms; you'll still want to watch the subject listings on relevant records to get handle on each database's subject vocabulary.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of scholarly journals; excludes articles from the most recent 2 to 5 years. Covers history and women's studies, among other disciplines. from other databases will lead you to JSTOR.
- Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new windowFull-text, scholarly articles, complementing JSTOR by providing current issues (with 2-10 year backfiles, depending on title). "SC Links" from other databases will lead you to Project Muse.
- Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowArticles published 1929-1983.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals [EBSCO] 1930s+ This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of architecture, architectural sculpture, city planning, and landscape architecture in 1,000 periodicals. Selective coverage back to the 1860s.
- Royal Institute of British Architects British Architectural Library Catalogue 1986+ This link opens in a new windowPrimary a book catalog, but lists articles too.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text [EBSCO] 1982+ This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to the performing arts worldwide, with 500 full text journals and books.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowArticles from both scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, plus biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and more. Formerly International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA).
- MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new windowThe major article database for English literature.
- Music Index Online [EBSCO] 1973+ This link opens in a new windowIndexes 850+ international music periodicals on musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
- RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals [EBSCO] 1800-1950 This link opens in a new windowFull text version of many European and North American music journals, with indexing for many more. Updated every six months with new titles.
- Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage This link opens in a new windowCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine [EBSCO] 1975+ This link opens in a new windowLists journal articles, proceedings, books, reviews & dissertations related to the development and influence of science.