Article Search Tips
Journal Locator
Search by journal title or citation for online and print journals.
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles that Smith does not offer online or in print.
Other Possibilities
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowLarge, interdisciplinary database with both scholarly and news & opinion publications
- Anthropology Plus [EBSCO] late 19th century+ This link opens in a new windowWorldwide index to journal articles, reports, and edited works. Draws together: Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
- AnthroSource (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index and full text to scholarly journals from the American Anthropological Association.
- Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage This link opens in a new windowCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
- Health Reference Center [Gale] 1980+. MLIN This link opens in a new windowCovers topics such as medicine and public health.
- LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowCore journals on gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender issues.
- PAIS International [ProQuest] 1915+ This link opens in a new windowEspecially good for public policy issues.
Discover
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more
History/Latin American Studies/Medical Databases
Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.
- Use the buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format
- If you identify an article from another source, use the Journal Locator (see box on left)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new windowCovers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, collections, and dissertations.
- HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new windowCovers Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and the U.S.-Mexico border; includes journals from the region.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies 1935+ This link opens in a new windowA bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, covering the social sciences and the humanities.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine [EBSCO] 1975+ This link opens in a new windowLists journal articles, proceedings, books, reviews & dissertations related to the history of science and medicine.
- PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new windowThe major database for medical topics. For historical aspects, add the phrase historical article to your search words.
- Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window"Deep" searching of the full text of scholarly articles; coverage limited to the last 5-10 years. from other databases - and the Discovery Service - will lead you to Project Muse.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window"Deep" searching of the full text of scholarly articles. Complete full-text backfiles for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred titles, with new additions every year. from other databases - and the Discovery Service - will lead you to JSTOR.
