Library Catalogs and Book Resources
|
Flickr: http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4035/4263328317_329e667327_m.jpg By Horia Varlan |
Library Catalogs
- WorldCatUse WorldCat to expand your search for books, theses, etc. beyond the Five College area. Watch for items that are owned by only one library; such unique material is often not obtainable via interlibrary loan.
E-Books Full text
(Please note that the individual records for many of the e-books in the databases below are in the Five College Catalog. However, these collections provide the capability of searching the full-text of each book, whereas the Five College Catalog does not.)
- Springer E-books 1815+ This link opens in a new window250,000 eBooks published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline, with some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy).
- Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowA very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.
- eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
- Google Books This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.
- National Academies Press (National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine)Over 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines. Books are free to download.
Books
Introducing Just Sustainabilities by
This unique and insightful text offers an exploration of the origins and subsequent development of the concept of just sustainability.Introducing Just Sustainabilities discusses key topics, such as food justice, sovereignty and urban agriculture; community, space, place(making) and spatial justice; the democratization of our streets and public spaces; how to create culturally inclusive spaces; intercultural cities and social inclusion; green-collar jobs and the just transition; and alternative economic models, such as co-production. With a specific focus on solutions-oriented policy and planning initiatives that specifically address issues of equity and justice within the context of developing sustainable communities, this is the essential introduction to just sustainabilities.
Call Number: E-Book HC79.E5 A34 2013eb (Interlibrary loan from Mt. Holyoke)ISBN: 1780324103Publication Date: 2013-05-09
Refining Expertise by
Winner of the 2015 Rachel Carson Prize presented by the Society for Social Studies of Science Residents of a small Louisiana town were sure that the oil refinery next door was making them sick. As part of a campaign demanding relocation away from the refinery, they collected scientific data to prove it. Their campaign ended with a settlement agreement that addressed many of their grievances--but not concerns about their health. Yet, instead of continuing to collect data, residents began to let refinery scientists' assertions that their operations did not harm them stand without challenge. What makes a community move so suddenly from actively challenging to apparently accepting experts' authority? Refining Expertise argues that the answer lies in the way that refinery scientists and engineers defined themselves as experts. Rather than claiming to be infallible, they began to portray themselves as responsible--committed to operating safely and to contributing to the well-being of the community. The volume shows that by grounding their claims to responsibility in influential ideas from the larger culture about what makes good citizens, nice communities, and moral companies, refinery scientists made it much harder for residents to challenge their expertise and thus re-established their authority over scientific questions related to the refinery's health and environmental effects. Gwen Ottinger here shows how industrial facilities' current approaches to dealing with concerned communities--approaches which leave much room for negotiation while shielding industry's environmental and health claims from critique--effectively undermine not only individual grassroots campaigns but also environmental justice activism and far-reaching efforts to democratize science. This work drives home the need for both activists and politically engaged scholars to reconfigure their own activities in response, in order to advance community health and robust scientific knowledge about it.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780814762394Publication Date: 2013-01-01- The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice by The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice presents an extensive and cutting-edge introduction to the diverse, rapidly growing body of research on pressing issues of environmental justice and injustice. With wide-ranging discussion of current debates, controversies, and questions in the history, theory, and methods of environmental justice research, contributed by over 90 leading social scientists, natural scientists, humanists, and scholars from professional disciplines from six continents, it is an essential resource both for newcomers to this research and for experienced scholars and practitioners. The chapters of this volume examine the roots of environmental justice activism, lay out and assess key theories and approaches, and consider the many different substantive issues that have been the subject of activism, empirical research, and policy development throughout the world. The Handbook features critical reviews of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methodological approaches and explicitly addresses interdisciplinarity, transdisciplinarity, and engaged research. Instead of adopting a narrow regional focus, it tackles substantive issues and presents perspectives from political and cultural systems across the world, as well as addressing activism for environmental justice at the global scale. Its chapters do not simply review the state of the art, but also propose new conceptual frameworks and directions for research, policy, and practice. Providing detailed but accessible overviews of the complex, varied dimensions of environmental justice and injustice, the Handbook is an essential guide and reference not only for researchers engaged with environmental justice, but also for undergraduate and graduate teaching and for policymakers and activists.Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781315678986Publication Date: 2017-09-14
