Major Biology, Chemistry, and Biochemistry Databases
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window Indexes all ACS journals, with links to full text for most.
- Biological Abstracts [Web of Science] 1926+ This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in the life sciences and biomedical fields: biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, zoology, agriculture, etc.
- BIOSIS Citation Index [Web of Science] 1926+ This link opens in a new window Covers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window Comprehensive chemical literature database. Requires registration here [use @smith.edu]. See SciFinder Support & Training for more info.
- PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new window Lists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.
Other Biology, Chemistry, and Biochemistry Databases
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window BioOne Complete is aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences; 43% of titles are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete. BioOne is a nonprofit publisher.
- Merck Index This link opens in a new window Lists chemical, common, generic, systematic & CAS® names; trademarks & manufacturers; molecular formulae, weights & composition; toxicity, caution & hazard information; therapeutic & commercial uses; literature references.
- RCSB PDB: Protein Data Bank Archive of 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA) essential for research and education in fundamental biology, health, energy, and biotechnology.
General Science Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
- Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window (Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
Science Librarian
Get Citation Help
Interdisciplinary Databases
Use Find Articles for interdisciplinary databases, covering both scholarly and popular articles.