Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online
Encyclopedia covering every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present. The extensive article on Gothic
is organized by media, each part with a good bibliography for further research. "Related articles" section leads to many other Gothic topics in the OAI.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Provides "articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom..."
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture
Offers a reliable, up-to-date, and convenient resource covering this field of major importance in the development of Western history and international art and architecture.
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Covers "all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era." Includes illustrations and maps.
Browse the ARH234 Reserves Collection online to find topics for group and individual assignments.
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Watch a video tutorial on how to do an advanced search using the Libraries' Discover search box.
Get help from Nimisha Bhat