Getting Started
- Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window 350+ titles in the humanities and social sciences, including the Blackwell companions and handbooks. Strengths are psychology, sociology, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
- Europa World Plus (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Covers the government and economy of 250+ countries & territories, with directory information and statistical tables. Online version of Europa World Year Book and the regional surveys.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window Reference content & commentary by renowned scholars, plus Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps & timelines. Includes Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and other core reference works on Islam.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area; from Oxford University Press.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window DRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window Provides a broad overview of the social and behavioral sciences. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology. It comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
- Europa World Plus (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Covers the government and economy of 250+ countries & territories, with directory information and statistical tables. Online version of Europa World Year Book and the regional surveys.
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Keywords:
Enter your search terms:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases (e.g., buddhism; slav*; french revolution)