Article Search Tips
Journal Locator - Search by journal title or citation for online and print journals.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles not owned by Smith. Articles are supplied as PDFs and usually arrive in just a few days.
African-American Publications
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, and Douglass Monthly.
- Chicago Defender Historical [ProQuest] 1905-1975 This link opens in a new windowOnline archive of articles, editorial cartoons, photographs, advertisements, etc. from this important African-American newspaper.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Black Studies Periodicals [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowFormerly called International Index to Black Periodicals. Scholarly & news articles from American, African & Caribbean publications. International and multi-disciplinary coverage of culture, history, multidisciplinary politics, religion, and social issues.
Discover
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
Article Databases
Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.
- Use the buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format
- If you identify an article from another source, use the Journal Locator (see box on left)
- NOTE: "Ida B Wells" is the best form of her name to search, since not all authors/articles in include Barnett as part of her name.
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowMix of scholarly and popular articles in all disciplines.
- America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new windowThe major article database for US and Canadian history.
- Black Studies Periodicals [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowFormerly called International Index to Black Periodicals. Scholarly & news articles from American, African & Caribbean publications. International and multi-disciplinary coverage of culture, history, multidisciplinary politics, religion, and social issues.
- Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window"Deep" searching of the full text of scholarly articles; coverage limited to the last 5-10 years. from other databases - and the Discovery Service - will lead you to Project Muse.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window"Deep" searching of the full text of scholarly articles. Complete full-text backfiles for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred titles, with new additions every year. from other databases - and the Discovery Service - will lead you to JSTOR.
