Books, pamphlets, and broadsides on every aspect of American life, based on Charles Evan's American Bibliography and the continuation by Shaw-Shoemaker.

Includes every significant English- and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Contains primary source documents from the United States & Europe, as well as other parts of the world; formats include antebellum books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, images, and extensive archival material.

Indexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.

Covers social history, early commerce, trade, colonization, industry, political systems, revolutions, slavery, exploration, philosophy, and more.

Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time. Full text books, pamphlets, broadsides & documents, from sermons & tracts to legislation & literature. Covers all the Americas.

Combines American Periodical Series (APS) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, offering full text access to 18th-early 20th century American magazines and journals.

Searchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century.

Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. For complete indexing use the Periodicals Index Online.

Index to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Full text of selected titles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online database.

Full text articles from The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, and Douglass Monthly.

Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, based on the Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers series.

Facsimile broadsides & ephemera, from 1760-1900, with Civil War accounts, town meeting reports, trade cards, theater & music programs, menus, and more.

Includes 48 national, regional & local newspapers, selected to best document 19th century Britain.

Early English news media including the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets & books gathered by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817).