Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases
Search Discover: East Asian Languages and Cultures
East Asian Languages & Cultures
Explore thousands of books and catalogs, images and other media, articles, reviews, and more with Smith's cross-database search.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Unabridged bilingual dictionaries for English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese & Arabic, with native speaker audio pronunciation.
Cambridge Histories Online Contains all titles of the Cambridge Histories series. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Oxford Bibliographies Online A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
Get help from Esther Roth-Katz