Five College Collections

Five College Archives & Manuscripts
Search over 1,500 finding aids (or inventories) describing the archives and manuscripts found at the Five Colleges.
Those less familiar with archival research may start with the Five College Archives & Manuscripts Primary Source Research Guide:
Primary Sources on the Web
Using Primary Sources on the Web (American Library Association - Reference User Services Association)
Archive Finder
Archive Finder - Directory of primary source materials in U.S., U.K., and Irish repositories.
In The First Person - Indexes thousands of oral histories, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, etc.; some materials are full text.
What is a Primary Source?
[Click on an image to view enlarged.]
A primary source is a record of an event, an occurrence, or a time period produced by a participant or observer at the time. Typically, primary sources include:
- unique documents or manuscripts (letters, diaries, journals, writings, speeches, photographs, scrapbooks, etc.)
- historic records of an organization (correspondence, memoranda, minutes, annual reports, etc.).
- government documents & maps
- artwork & artifacts
- music & audiovisual materials (film, audio and video tape)
- electronic computer files
Primary sources are often found housed in archival collections. See the Collections at Smith tab of this guide.
They can also be found in published forms, such as newspapers, magazine articles, pamphlets and other printed materials produced during the time period under study. Often they have been digitized and are available online. See:
- Books & More (broadsides, pamphlets, government documents and ephmera)
- Magazines, Journals, Newspapers
Ask an Archivist/Librarian
College Archives
Nanci Young
(413) 585-2976
nyoung@smith.edu
Sophia Smith Collection
Amy Hague
(413) 585-2970
ssc-wmhist@smith.edu
Mortimer Rare Book Room
Martin Antonetti
(413) 585-2906
mantonet@smith.edu
Hillyer Art Library
Barbara Polowy
(413) 585-2940
bpolowy@smith.edu
Josten Performing Arts Library
Marlene Wong
(413) 585-2930
mmwong@smith.edu
Young Science Library
Rocco Piccinino
(413) 585-2950
rpiccini@smith.edu
Neilson Library Reference
(413) 585-2960
neilref@smith.edu






Loading...
