got ?'s chat | text | email | phone Smith College LibrariesResearchHelpLibrary ServicesAbout the LibrariesLibraries & Collections

Art & Architecture

This guide will help you find resources in art and architecture.

About this Guide

Image from ARTstor, Homer, Winslow, Art Students and Copyists in the Louvre Gallery, Paris, Drawn by Winslow Homer from Harper's Weekly, January 11, 1868, pg. 25, wood engraving printed in black on paper, 10 1/2 x 16 in.; 26.67 x 40.64 cm., Smith College Museum of Art, Northampton, MA , Accession Number	SC 1950:77-100

This guide includes major databases to help you find what you need for art and architecture research. Use the tabs to find background information, articles, books, images, primary sources, etc. 

A note about the categories:

  • Background Information includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, statistics and data, and other kinds of information that will give you an overview or context.
  • Works of Art lists major digital image databases as well as online catalogs providing access to information and images about works of art and other cultural materials
  • Primary Sources includes links to digital primary source collections.  These collections contain digital newspapers, magazines, books, maps, or other materials created by participants or observers at the time.
  • Class guides will lead you to specialized library guides created for specific art and architecture courses.

 

Home: Homer, Winslow, "Art Students and Copyists in the Louvre Gallery, Paris." Published in Harper's Weekly, January 11, 1868, pg. 25. Wood engraving printed in black on paper, 10 1/2 x 16 in.  Smith College Museum of Art, Northampton, MA. Image from ARTstor.

Art Research Help

Barbara Polowy
Contact:
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
(413) 585-2941
bpolowy@smith.edu
Website / Blog Page