Reference Sources
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowCovers every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present including art movements, media & materials, themes & subjects, specific places & monuments, and 21,000 individual artists with bibliographies and image links.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowA scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
-
Smarthistory: Reframing Art HistoryReframing Art History, an open-access multimedia art history "textbook," gives you a guided journey through the living, breathing, meaningful side of art history. With chapters developed by a group of more than 50 experts, it showcases art and history from the bottom up.
-
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
by
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual arts. In a convenient one-volume format, this encyclopedia provides fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art. Combining scholarly rigor with lively, clear writing this book is an accessible and indispensable resource for anyone who studies, creates, collects, or deals in works of art. Coverage includes materials in art practice (e.g. ink, enamel, digital materials); materials in conservation (e.g. adhesives); classes of artifacts (e.g. wallpaper, mosaic, ceramic); techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes & forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners.
Call Number: N8510 .G76 2008 Hillyer ReferenceISBN: 9780195313918Publication Date: 2008-10-06 -
Prints and Printmaking
by
Call Number: NE400 .G74 1996ISBN: 9780520207141Publication Date: 1996-09-01 -
-
The Elements of Style
by
Praise for previous editions: One of the most borrowed books in our library. --This Old house A dizzying amount of detailed pictorial information ... clearly and fascinatingly captioned. --World of Interiors The Elements of Style is the most comprehensive visual survey, period by period, feature by feature, of the key styles in American and British domestic architecture from the Tudor period to present day. A valuable reference guide, the book is designed for owners of period houses, restorers, architects, interior designers and all those interested in our architectural heritage. This revised edition includes a fully updated chapter covering the Contemporary era (1975--present) and a new list of suppliers and resources. More than 3,000 analytical drawings and historical engravings, 500 color and 1,000 black-and-white photographs provide a clearly presented guide to the features appropriate for every part of a building. Major components, such as doors, windows, walls, floors, ceilings and staircases, the small but important embellishments, such as molding and door hardware, and permanent or semi-permanent fixtures, such as lighting and wallcoverings, populate this wide-ranging encyclopedic resource. A system of color-coded tabs enables the reader to compare specific features as they have evolved over time. Additional information on restoration and maintenance, biographies of key architects, and a detailed glossary are included. Periods covered: Tudor and Jacobean (1485-1625) Baroque (1625-1714) Early Georgian (1714-1765) Colonial (1607-1780) Late Georgian (1765-1811) Regency and Early 19th Century (1811-1837) Federal and Empire (1780-1850) British Victorian (1837-1901) American Victorian (1840-1910) Arts and Crafts (1860-1925) Art Nouveau (1888-1905) Edwardian (1901-1914) American Beaux Arts (1870-1920) Twenties and Thirties The Modern Movement (1920-1950) Beyond Modern (1950-1975) Contemporary Era (1975-present)
Call Number: NA2850 .E44 2012 Hillyer ReferenceISBN: 9781770850866Publication Date: 2012-05-31 -
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
by
For more information including the introduction, a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample pages and more, visit the Encyclope dia of 20th Century Architecture website. Focusing on architecture from all regions of the world, this three-volume set profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. Unlike existing works, this encyclopedia examines the complexities of rapidly changing global conditions that have dispersed modern architectural types, movements, styles, and building practices across traditional geographic and cultural boundaries.
Call Number: NA680 .E495 2004ISBN: 1579582435Publication Date: 2003-12-09 -
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World
by
Vernacular - or traditional - architecture encompasses most of the buildings of the world. This encyclopedia is the first to show the remarkable diversity of the buildings constructed and lived in by the people of over a thousand cultures. The first of the three volumes focuses on the theories, principles and philosophy that underpin traditional architecture. Volumes 2 and 3 consider these principles within specific cultural and societal contexts. As building traditions vary widely within some countries and extend across the political boundaries of others, the encyclopedia considers vernacular architecture within its cultural rather than its national contexts. Richly illustrated with photographs, line drawings and maps, the work is also supported by a glossary, a lexicon, and the largest bibliography on the subject ever published. This work will be an inspiration and resource for architects, anthropologists, folklorists and geographers, and important for all who help shape housing and conservation policies.
Call Number: NA208 .E53 1997ISBN: 0521564220Publication Date: 1997-11-27
-
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias & other reference works, plus eBooks, images, etc., in the field design & craft studies. Also includes 100+ designer pages, an interactive timeline & other tools.
-
Decentering Whiteness in Design HistoryA bibliography of resources that focuses on issues of race & ethnicity in design.
-
Design and Applied Arts Index [ProQuest] 1973+ This link opens in a new windowExtensive index to articles, reviews, & illustrations in 500 design and craft periodicals. Covers graphic, industrial, interior, fashion, textile, theater, and multimedia design, architecture, and design management worldwide.
-
Museum Studies
by
Updated to reflect the latest developments in twenty-first century museum scholarship, the new Second Edition of Museum Studies: An Anthology of Contexts presents a comprehensive collection of approaches to museums and their relation to history, culture and philosophy. Unique in its deep range of historical sources and by its inclusion of primary texts by museum makers Places current praxis and theory in its broader and deeper historical context with the collection of primary and secondary sources spanning more than 200 years Features the latest developments in museum scholarship concerning issues of inclusion and exclusion, repatriation, indigenous models of collection and display, museums in an age of globalization, visitor studies and interactive technologies Includes a new section on relationships, interactions, and responsibilities Offers an updated bibliography and list of resources devoted to museum studies that makes the volume an authoritative guide on the subject New entries by Victoria E. M. Cain, Neil G.W. Curtis, Catherine Ingraham, Gwyneira Isaac, Robert R. Janes, Sean Kingston, Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett, Sharon J. Macdonald, Saloni Mathur, Gerald McMaster, Sidney Moko Mead, Donald Preziosi, Karen A. Rader, Richard Sandell, Roger I. Simon, Crain Soudien, Paul Tapsell, Stephen E. Weil, Paul Williams, and Andrea Witcomb
Call Number: AM7 .M874 2012ISBN: 9781405173810Publication Date: 2012-04-23 -
A Companion to Museum Studies
by
A Companion to Museum Studies captures the multidisciplinary approach to the study of the development, roles, and significance of museums in contemporary society. Collects first-rate original essays by leading figures from a range of disciplines and theoretical stances, including anthropology, art history, history, literature, sociology, cultural studies, and museum studies Examines the complexity of the museum from cultural, political, curatorial, historical and representational perspectives Covers traditional subjects, such as space, display, buildings, objects and collecting, and more contemporary challenges such as visiting, commerce, community and experimental exhibition forms
ISBN: 9781405108393Publication Date: 2006-04-21
-
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
by
Call Number: GT507.E54 2010 (Art Reference)ISBN: 9780195377330Publication Date: 2010-07-15
-
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, Berg fashion eBooks, color images from noted costume collections, and fashion reference material.
Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, Ceci N'est Pas Une Peace Pipe I, 1993, Smith College Museum of Art.