Forbes Library: Hampshire Room
"extensive resources in local history, genealogy, and a large collection of historic Northampton photographs. Highlights of the Hampshire Room collections include account books and town papers, maps, manuscripts, stereoscopes... Hampshire Gazette negatives."

• Microfilm Collections at Forbes Library lists the library's extensive holdings of town records which document every aspect of municipal administration and town life for Northampton as well as other places in the region from the 17th through the 19th century.

Open: The Hampshire Room will be closed until April 26, 2018, for a construction project. Call 413-587-1014 or email localhistory@forbeslibrary.org to make an appointment to use the collection.

Historic Northampton
Online and on-site documentation of Northampton and surrounding towns. Smith's subscription to Historic Northampton online includes these resources of special interest:

• Historic House Inventories
  "a comprehensive survey of Northampton's historic buildings, including business and residential districts... Over 1100 structures were surveyed... using deeds, probate records, newspaper clippings and historical documents, the building's history and ownership was traced back to its original construction."
• Index to Local News in the Hampshire Gazette Northampton, Mass., 1876-1937

Open: Wednesday - Saturday from 10 to 4; Sunday from 12 to 5. On-site research is by appointment only. Schedule an appointment at info@historicnorthmapton.org. Non-members are charged a fee to use resources. See Historic Northampton's Research Policy for more information about using the on-site collections.

Forbes Library: Hampshire Room
The local history collection includes over 50,000 photos (originals and clippings) most dating from the later 19th and early 20th centuries.

• Finding aid for photos: street index

Historic Northampton Digital Collections
Includes several substantial photograph collections. Limit your search to archives, objects, or photos in Advanced Search.