Primary Souces on the Web
- Visual History Archive Online (USC Shoah Foundation)"Public" version contains 1,200 English-language testimonies from Holocaust survivors. UMass has the full, subscription version.
Images on the Web . . .
- AP Images [EBSCO] 1840+ This link opens in a new windowSelect Advanced Search
Can search for specific events, dates, places, topics, etc.
- CorbisSelect Advanced Search
Can search for dates, locations, etc. - Life Photo ArchivesSelect 1930s or 1940s
Add AND [place] AND [topic]
(e.g. 1930 . . . source:life and germany and jews) - Photo Archives Online Catalog (US Holocaust Memorial Museum)Searchable database of photographs from the Holocaust.
- Find Images GuideHelp finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.
- Find Images - Services, Rights & CitationsDescribes using images, including rights and how to cite.
The Online Catalog & Primary Sources
As you search in the online catalog, watch for the words "personal narratives," "diaries," "interviews," "correspondence," "pamphlets," and "sources" as part of the subject headings; these may point you to published primary sources in the library collections.
Or, try these Subject Begins With searches in the online catalog:
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) - Personal narratives
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) - Czechoslovakia - Personal narratives
- Holocaust survivors - Interviews
You can also search for these words, for example, women and jewish holocaust and (narratives or interviews or sources or diaries or correspondence)
Other clues may be buried in the title, authorship, date of publication, etc.
The Online Catalog & Images
Books are an excellent source for images, containing images reproduced from archives and collections that might be difficult to access. Books of images will often include essays, memoirs, and other descriptive text to help contextualize the images (unlike Google Images).
Try this search: holocaust and pictorial works
