Research Guides: DAN540: History and Literature of Dance: Digital Resources

Images

Find Images Guide
Help finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.

TIP: Most universities and major public libraries have their own digital collections. If you think that there is a connection between your subject and a particular university/city, check if the library of that university/city has a database of digitized sources."

eBook Collections

Ebooks from these collections are included in the Library catalog or Discover. This list provides alternate access points.

Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Mostly scholarly titles including the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Help.
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Full text eBooks on a broad range of reference and scholarly topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage in arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Use the option to "Narrow By: Books" to search through 30,000+ eBooks.
Springer E-books 1815+ This link opens in a new window
eBooks covering scientific disciplines with some social sciences & humanities.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Full text books & journals digitized by HathiTrust partner libraries, Google, the Internet Archive, etc. Includes searchable access to over 10 million volumes total; 3 million public domain volumes are fully viewable online and allow downloading one page at a time. Complements Google Books.

Historical Book Sources
The "Find Primary Sources" research guide includes links to Early English Books Online, Early American Imprints, and other book collections.

Major Art Image Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
One million digital images of works of art and other cultural materials ranging from standard art history survey material to specialized collections on modern design, Islamic art, women's history, and many other areas.

Library of Congress

American Memory: Migrated Collections
Primary source materials relating to U.S. history and culture.

NYPL Digital Collections

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
NYPL Collections Scanned by Google
NYPL is working with Google to offer a portion of its collection online via Google Book Search. The items being digitized in this project are chosen based on the following criteria: they are in the public domain (published before 1923) and they are in good enough physical condition to withstand scanning.

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. The Internet Archive now includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.

Internet Archive
Class Examples from Internet Archive
Ruth St. Denis : pioneer and prophet, vol. 1 by Ted Shawn
Ruth St. Denis : pioneer and prophet, vol. 2 by Ted Shawn
Natural history of the ballet girl (1947) by Albert Richard Smith

The European Library

The European Library
Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums

Bibliotheque Nationale de France

Gallica - Digital Libraries
Gallica is a platform providing access to public domain and copyrighted digital material. The project is part of a European program in which the BnF is the French aggregator for the implementation of « Europeana », the European digital library.

National Library of Australia

Trove
Trove focuse on Australia and Australians and supplements what search engines provide. Its strengths are in the fields of the social sciences, literature, local or family history.

For example if researching images relating to Edmund Barton, Australia's first Prime Minister, results will include descriptions such as people, book, manuscript, map and newspaper articles. A researcher searching for information on Nellie Melba will be presented with a range of results including biographies, pictures, music, newspapers, books etc.

The service works best in Internet Explorer 7+, Firefox 3+ or Safari 4+, at a screen resolution of 1024x768 or higher.