Research Guides: DAN540: History and Literature of Dance: Media

Alexander Street's Music Online

New: The audio/video/full-text in the Alexander St. databases are now cataloged in the Five College Online Catalog and also in Discover.

You still need to search in these databases for content not reflected in the Five College Online Catalog:

DRAM, Naxos Music Library, Naxos Spoken Word Library and the BBC Television Shakespeare.

----------

Instructions for getting the Music Online search add on

List of Alexander Street audio, video, scores, and full-text music reference collections with descriptions

NOTE: Music Online will search ALL the Smith subscription streaming Alexander Street audio/video/full text databases EXCEPT DRAM, Naxos Music Library, Naxos Spoken Word Library , Theatre in Video, and the BBC Television Shakespeare.

Finding DVDs and Videos

Online tutorial to finding videos and DVDs in the Five College Catalog.

Finding DVDs and Videos.

Finding Scores and Recordings

Link to Finding Music Scores & Recordings in the Five College Catalog.

Streaming Video

Dance in Video: Vol. 1 & 2 [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of dance productions & documentaries by the most influential performers & companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental & improvisational dance.

Dance on Camera at Hulu
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
(Public website version) An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob's Pillow from the 1930s to today, plus new multi-media essays and a related podcast.
Netflix
Vimeo
YouTube

Streaming Audio

New: The audio/video/full-text in the Alexander St. databases are now cataloged in the Five College Online Catalog and also in Discover.

Streaming audio/video available through Smith subscription can also be identified by searching in the individual databases.

African American Music Reference [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
This is an Alexander St. database and its content is now reflected in the Five College Online Catalog and in Discover. Includes songs by and about miners, native Americans, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers & cowboys. Genres include country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, blues, gospel & shape note singing. Liner notes are included.
Contemporary World Music [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
This is an Alexander St. database and its content is now reflected in the Five College Online Catalog and in Discover. Streaming audio; emphasis on fusion, world beat, reggae, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing & jazz, etc. Includes Topic, Playasound, Budamusique, Air Mail , Manuiti, Crossing, Lyrichord, Navras, and INEDIT labels.
DRAM This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio (CD-quality, 192kbps/MP4), from New World Records, CRI, Albany, Artifact, Cedille, Cold Blue, Deep Listening, Frog Peak, Innova, Lovely, Mode, Mutable, Open Space, Pogus, and XI Labels.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio; Naxos, Albany, BIS, Bridge, Cedille, Celestial Harmonies, Chandos, Col Legno, Da Capo, Danacord, Delos, Gimell, Hänssler, Hungaraton, Music and Arts, Opera Rara, Vanguard Classics, Wergo, and many other labels.
Smithsonian Global Sound [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
This is an Alexander St. database and its content is now reflected in the Five College Online Catalog and in Discover. Streaming audio of the world's musical and aural traditions; includes published recordings by the Smithsonian Folkways label & archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, etc.

Identifying Available Videos

In the Five College Catalog, the metadata created to access videos is limited to known performers/choreographers and Library of Congress subject headings. A keyword search may allow you access to choreographies by title if those titles appear in the contents, providing the contents have been listed.

NOTE: There might NOT be an available video. You may have to contact the source!!

Chamber Dance Company Repertory Archive (U. of Washington)
Dance Films Association
Great list of links to distributors of dance films and video.
Insight Media (Dance)
Princeton Book Company
Amazon.com (Advanced Search, DVD)
Trying to keep up with what's new? Try searching DVD / Genre / Musicals & Performing Arts / Sort by release date.
Make a suggestion for purchase