Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Search Tips
Help Finding Articles
Search by journal title or citation for online and print journals
This search will help determine whether you have access to a online full text online source, or need to physically locate a print periodical. PLEASE NOTE: All Josten bound print periodicals are off-site and must be requested.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles not owned by Smith. Articles are supplied as PDFs and usually arrive in just a few days.
Academic and Non-Academic Articles
Use the databases below to
identify articles and essays on your topic.
- Use the buttons within the databases
below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print
- If you identify an article
from another source, use the Journal Locator
(see box on left)
- The databases below are just a few of the many databases available at Smith. Use the library's subject pages to identify other subject-specific databases. [Look for Find Resources/Choose Subject on the home page.]
Tutorial for EBSCOhost Advanced Search Guided Style
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text [EBSCO] 1982+ This link opens in a new window
Ex.: Dance Research Journal, 12/01/03 - present.
Ex.: Dance Research, 12/01/83 - to present (with a 12-month delay) Index to journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries as well as full text for 100 core theatre and dance journals, plus selected books from 1982 to present.
Music and Performing Arts Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Offers combined searching of International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text and International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Large, interdisciplinary database of scholarly journals as well as news and opinion magazines.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window
Lists scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies & proceedings. Produced by the Modern Language Association of America
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text [EBSCO] early 1800's + This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos. Contains records in over 100 languages from over 500 scholarly journals.
Music Index Online [EBSCO] 1973+ This link opens in a new window
Also, Josten Quick Ref ML118 .M84 (1949-1978) Data from more than 655 international music periodicals covering a broad range of subjects including musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Full Text Academic Journal Collections
Search across journals in a wide range of disciplines with each of their powerful search engines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Ex.: Dance Research Journal, 1974-2003.
Ex.: Dance Research, 1983-2005. Retrospective full text backfiles of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences; most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available. [SC Links retrieves Project Muse content.]
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window
Ex.: Dance Research Journal, v. 40 (2008)-current issue.
Ex.: Dance Research, v. 20 (2006) - v. 26 (2008); archive only. Current content access to the full-text of over 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. SC Links retrieves Project Muse content
Requesting Josten Periodicals
ALL Josten bound print periodicals are off-site in SC/Storage Josten:
- Storage journal request form
- Please specify journal title, volume, and year.
volumes of SC/Storage Josten periodicals will be delivered to Neilson
Library for Smith College patrons usually by the next week day if requested by 2:30 p.m.
Requesting Items from Smith Storage
Use the Request Item button in the library catalog to request delivery of books from Storage to be picked up at Young Library or your own Five College home institution.