Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUS205: The Sacred Harp : A 19th Century American "Shape-note" Tunebook: Secondary Literature

Fall 2011, T. Eriksen

Article Search Tips

sclinksJournal Locator
Search by journal title to locate online and print journals.

Consult Help Finding Articles for additional help.

Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles that Smith does not offer online or in print.

Article Databases

Use the databases below to identify articles and essays on your topic.

  • Use the SCLinks buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format
  • If you identify an article from another source, use the Journal Locator (see box below)

JSTOR Includes the full text backfiles of core music journals.

Project Muse Current issues; Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

RILM [EBSCO] - 1967+ - Lists articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, films, and videos. From 500+ scholarly journals in 100+ languages.

RIPM [EBSCO] - 1800 - 1950 (Full text; international collection of music periodicals)

International Index to Music Periodicals - Contains detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to the present, covering the scholarly to the popular.

Music Index Online [EBSCO] - 1973+

America, History and Life [EBSCO] - Lists articles, book reviews, collections, and dissertations published 1953+. Direct links to articles in J-STOR, ProjectMuse, the History Cooperative, etc.

Humanities Abstracts [EBSCO] - Covers the core history journals and includes book reviews.

Within any of the EBSCO databases, click on Choose Database to search several databases together (e.g. America History & Life and Humanities Abstracts). If you do this, be sure to use a variety of synonyms and use the subject listings listed on relevant records for improving your initial results.

Books

Five College Library Catalog

Try a KEYWORDS ANYWHERE search to find a few relevant titles. Then track through on the Subject(s) listed on individual book descriptions to conduct a more comprehensive subject search.

Requesting an Item
Use the library catalog to request delivery of books not available at Smith.