"Bring Human Rights Home," Loretta Ross, Making a Difference Conference, 2001, smith_ssc_ms00504_as83065_001. Sophia Smith Collection of Women's History.
Loretta Ross and Smith
"The more consistently we call ourselves in, the more we learn to enjoy the learning we are gifted from others." Calling In by Loretta J. Ross
As you begin your journey here at Smith, you are joining a long and robust legacy of activists, writers, scholars, and much more. While this page focuses on the legacy of Loretta J. Ross, the author of Calling In and a professor here at Smith, our Special Collections tell the stories of countless Smithies and community members who have changed the world, in big and small ways.
Learn a bit about our collections that relate to Professor Ross and her work, both in the general library catalog and Special Collections, and explore the texts that informed Ross' research for Calling In. As you'll learn during your time at Smith, the notes and references of a book are the best part!
Books that Informed Calling In
Loretta Ross and Special Collections
Smith College Special Collections—comprised of the College Archives, Mortimer Rare Book Collection, and Sophia Smith Collection of Women's History—covers a wide range of history and people. Below, you will find collections that relate to Loretta Ross and her work as it appears in Calling In.
-
Loretta J. Ross Papers The Loretta J. Ross Papers contain speeches, writings, correspondence, organization and conference files, subject files, periodicals, memorabilia and audiovisual materials. The papers pertain primarily to her activism for reproductive justice rights for women of color, anti-violence, and international human rights work.
-
Voices of Feminism Oral History Project The Voices of Feminism Oral History Project documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. Loretta Ross is featured as a narrator/interviewer.
-
SisterSong Collective records The SisterSong Women of Color Reproductive Justice Collective is a network of local, regional and national grassroots agencies working for reproductive justice for five primary ethnic populations/indigenous nations in the United States: African American, Arab American/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, Latina, and Native American/Indigenous.