This multidisciplinary bibliographic database for Medieval Studies is a very important and specialized reference tool for citations relating to Medieval Studies. 

What do you get from IMB?

IMB allows you to surface research that is not available in popular databases, like JSTOR,  and includes current scholarship. 

• The IMB provides a comprehensive and current bibliography of articles not only in journals but also covers book chapters, conference proceedings, essay collections and festschriften (a collection of writings published in honor of a scholar).

• The IMB helps collect and make accessible research across all disciplines related to the medieval period.

What does IMB cover?

• IMB covers research related to Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East, and is  an important resource for Islamic heritage, as well as Christianity, Judaism, and European pagan religions.

• The time period covered is from AD 300 to 1500.

• The database includes works published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

How do you use IMB?

Search IMB for an author, topic, keyword related to your research to get a list of citations.

• To find full text articles:

  • Click the Full Text link or Find at Smith College the underneath the citation.

  • If the Libraries do not have access to the full text, there will be a link to request via Interlibrary loan.

• To find book chapters:

  • Book chapter records in the IMB do not connect to Discover Advanced through the Find at Smith College link. To find the book listed in a citation, copy and paste the title into Discover Advanced to see if it is in the 5C Libraries. If there is no ebook or print copy of a particular book, place an Interlibrary loan request.

Interlibrary loan requests

• You can request a scan of an article or book chapter, free of charge, through Smith Libraries’ Interlibrary loan (ILL). The ILL team will find a library that owns the journal or book, and have them scan the material for you. ILL is fast and easy and scans usually arrive within 2 days.