The Faculty and Staff records of Smith College contain materials about college employees. These materials include press coverage of contract negotiations, coverage of student protests, and writings by staff members. There are also flyers and other materials criticizing Smith’s financial strategy and its labor ramifications.

View Finding Aid (CA-MS-01007)

The Workers Empowering Workers in Northampton (WE WIN), were an organizing committee of Smith administrative support staff who conducted an unsuccessful union campaign in the 1990s. The WE WIN materials include OC newsletters, organizing materials such as event announcements and phone banking scripts, coverage of student support, and documents related to anti-union retaliation from college and staff (including the staff committee formed to oppose the union, called We Won’t). These materials provide a useful overview of a union campaign at the college from start to finish. View Finding Aid (CA-MS-01229)

This collection contains the records of SLAC, a student organization active in the early 1990s which focused on labor issues and activism at Smith. It contains administrative materials related to the running of the organization, like meeting minutes and lists of contacts. It includes photos and materials from actions like anti-sweatshop protests. It also contains zines focused on workers’ rights issues, for example the labor provenance of graduation gowns and union organizing among exotic dancers.

View Finding Aid (CA-MS-01083)

The records of Smith’s full-time dining and housekeeping workers’ union spans its existence from years 1940 to 2022. It includes information on the activities of the Local as a whole, as well as individual members, and organizing efforts with students and other unions. The collection is an extremely valuable resource for information about Smith’s relationship with its dining and housekeeping staff over time.

View Finding Aid (CA-MS-01226)

This collection contains the records of several different student organizations centered on labor issues. These groups were active at different periods in college history, and their records illuminate the different popular foci at these various points. Orgs include the Labor Relations Group (box 3004.2); the Consumers’ League (box 3004); Student Labor Action Coalition (2000-2002); and Solidarity (active 1995, box 3004.7). The records of the United Student Employee Delegation (box 3004.8), a staff advocacy organization active in the early 1990s, are especially useful for their focus on the relationship between college staff, students, and administration. Other records related to USED and their activism can be found in the collections: Student Demonstrations Records (CA-MS-00317, box 3023) and Office of the President Mary Maples Dunn Files (CA-MS-00073, box 210, folder 2).

View Finding Aid (CA-MS-00022)

This collection contains limited records and publications about work study and student employment, including handbooks, pamphlets, and photographs of student workers.

View Finding Aid (CA-MS-01062)