Citation Formats for Bibliographies & References
- Citation Guides & Style ManualsSmith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
- Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Notes & Bibliography (Purdue Online Writing Lab)Format of Chicago Style research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed.Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
Chapter 14.2 explains the notes and bibliography system. Chapter 14.19 and following sections provide guidance on formatting footnotes and bibliography entries for books, articles, online resources, and other sources. - Association of Art Editors Style GuideGuidance on art-specific writing and citing issues including formating references to exhibitions, works of art, and art movements.
Citing Works in Image Databases
Citations to images included in image databases (ARTstor, etc.), should include the following (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source):
creator's name, title of the work as given in the database, location of the work if known, date (database collection if known).
Citing Works of Art
Citations should include the following information (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source) in addition to the standard citation elements for the print or electronic source of the image of the work:
artist's name, title of the work as given in the source, date, location of the work if known (standard reference or note citation for the source publication).
Grant proposal examples
The Tribal Heritage Grant awards are funded by the Historic Preservation Fund (HPF), and administered by the National Park Service (NPS).
- Sample applications from the Institute of Museum and Library Services
- Sample list from NEH Cultural Heritage, Sustaining Cultural Heritage Collections (scroll to the bottom of the page for links to examples)
Honoré Victorin Daumier, Rien ! rien ! Je ne trouve rien... (Nothing! Nothing at all! I find nothing...), Plate 18 from Galerie Physionomique (A Portrait Gallery), 1837, Smith College Museum of Art.
Florine Stettheimer, Henry McBride, Art Critic, 1922. Smith College Museum of Art.