A guide to biographical sources available through the Smith College Libraries.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Lengthy literary biographies by recognized literary scholars and critics, covering past & present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
- Gale Literary Index
Sources for biographies of writers in many disciplines.
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Full text articles on scientists, from classical antiquity to modern times.
- Politics in America [CQ]
Profiles of members of Congress - personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations.
- Deutsche Biographie
Covers German women and men who have made significant political, economic, social, scientific, technical, or artistic achievements.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography
Covers Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, and those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
- Oxford Dictionary of African Biography
- Biography in Context MLIN
Biographies from dictionaries, encyclopedias, and magazines. (Formerly Biography Resource Center.)
- American National Biography
Reliable scholarly biographies of major figures in American history.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the 4th century BC to the year 2001. 2nd edition, with illustrations.
- Marquis Who's Who
Searchable biographies from Who's Who in America, Who was Who in America, and the regional and subject Who's Who titles.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes reference sources containing biographical entries on individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and region of the world.
- Biography Index Past and Present 1946+
Indexes articles, books, and autobiographies for people from antiquity to the present and from all fields and nationalities.
- Ancestry (Library Edition)
Census, vital, church, court & immigration records for the US & UK, plus material on other areas. Major components: US federal census 1790-1930 (incl. manuscript returns); historical maps; Social Security Death Index; etc.
Use Ask a Librarian to chat, send email, or call the Reference Desk. Text us at (413) 570-0LIB .