Databases by Title

Includes collections and finding tools for articles, books, background sources, streaming videos, primary sources, and more!

Loading...

Subject Research Guides

Get Help

Smith Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians
Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

 
Libraries Service Desk

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Lists articles, essays & books on French and Francophone literature.
Trial
Online version of Bloomsbury’s Cultural Histories series, offering surveys of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each topic is examined over these time periods: Antiquity, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire & the Modern Age. Trial ends 3/8/18. Send feedback.
New
Encyclopedias & other reference works, plus eBooks, images, etc., in the field design & craft studies. Also includes 100+ designer pages, an interactive timeline & other tools.
Trial
Critical biographies on individuals who have contributed to the history of thought & philosophy. Currently covers North America, Britain, Ireland & the Middle East; entries for figures from Europe, Asia, Latin American & Africa are forthcoming. Trial ends 3/8/18. Send feedback.
New
Scholarly works covering popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to present. Includes Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, all titles in the 33 1/3 book series, and titles from the Bloomsbury’s Popular Music Studies list.
New
A collection of digital graded readers for Chinese language learners. Books are available in both simplified and traditional Chinese character versions, accompanied by English and pinyin. There is a built-in dictionary function, listing of competency levels for Chinese characters, and audio tracks.
New
Growing collection of in-depth analyses of key engineering failures; includes documentaries on major failures, books, simulations, news segments, audio footage & transcripts, images, testimony from participants & witnesses, etc.
Trial
Full-text archive, 1933-2014. Trial ends 3/8/18. Send feedback.
New
Historic audio recordings with supporting field materials, 1960's through the 1980's.
Trial
Seminal business magazine, providing news & analysis of both American and, later, international business, economics, technology & industry. Trial ends 3/8/18. Send feedback.
New
Streaming oral history archive, documenting African American contributions to American life, culture, social movements & organizations. Subject coverage includes the arts, business, civics, education, entertainment, law, media, medicine, the military, politics, religion, science, sports & style.
New
Important films produced from the early 20th century to today, from Milestone Films, Zeitgeist Films & Oscilloscope.
New
Legendary Russian cinema & photographic art journal, illustrated throughout with typographic designs & abstract compositions, including ads in black & red Constructivist style. Photomontage pictures, avant-garde layouts, unusual typefaces, etc. influenced the creative flow of 1920s.
New
Full-text collection of local, regional & national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920's; also includes several anti-Klan newspapers.
Trial
Documents the early book trade; the printing & publishing community; the legal underpinnings of copyright provisions; the history of bookbinding. NOTE: PDF downloads not available during trial. Trial ends 2/26/18. Send feedback.
New
Full-text periodicals depicting American musical life 1838 - early 1900's, through local & international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music & ads.
Trial
Scholarly, continuously-updated encyclopedias, designed to provide contextual guidance at the start of research projects on unfamiliar topics. Trial includes four subjects: American history; Latin American history; Politics; Religion; with some free content in all the other subjects. Trial ends 3/8/2018. Send feedback.
Trial
Digitized articles from French national, regional, local and colonial newspapers, covering three centuries. Trial ends 2/28/18. Send feedback.
Trial
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries on classical and popular music & composers, including seminal English- & foreign language titles published 1775 to present. Trial ends 3/31/18. Send feedback.
New
Major Russian journal covering history & literature. Published mainly memoirs, correspondence, and literary & institutional documentary materials highlighting the cultural & political history of the Russian nobility, 18th - 19th centuries.
New
Streaming access to this preeminent CBS news program, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Trial
Searchable database of streaming broadcasts, with transcripts, from Russia’s only independent TV channel. TV Rain provides a forum for opposition leaders denied access to pro-government media and manages to circumvent censorship. Trial ends 2/20/18. On campus access only during trial. Send feedback.
New
Supplements Women and Social Movements, International, exploring prominent themes such as conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
Trial
Primary sources from the 19th & 20th c., including diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records & journals; documents the issues that have affected women's societal contributions & social status and the women's movement. Trial ends 2/13/18. Send feedback.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...