Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Reference Essentials
Oxford Art Online
A collection of art encyclopedias and dictionary covering every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present. Entries range from excellent survey articles on major art and architecture movements; the art and architecture of countries, cultures, and regions; artistic mediums; and the life and work of individual artists. Artist entries include biographical, critical, and contextual information. Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major secondary and primary sources. Most articles include with bibliographies and links to images on museum and other reputable Internet sites.
Art Reference N85.J64 1990
Jones, Lois Swan. Art Information: Research Methods and Resources. 3rd ed. Dubuque, Iowa: Kendall/Hunt, 1990.
Art Reference Z5931 .A67
Arntzen, Etta and Robert Rainwater. Guide to the Literature of Art History. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980.
Art Reference Z5931 .A67 2005
Marmor, Max, and Alex Ross. Guide to the Literature of Art History 2. Chicago: American Library Association, 2005.
Art Reference Z5938 .F73 1997
Freitag, Wolfgang M.Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. New York: Garland, 1997.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
Books & Catalogs: Search Strategies
Subject Headings for Common Research Topics
- [artist's name] as a subject --
- Bibliography | Catalogues Raisonnes
Congresses | Criticism And interpretation
Exhibitions | Influence | Sources | Correspondence
- [artist's name] as an author
- [artist's name] -- Exhibitions
- [topic/subject]-- Exhibitions
Art Collection Documentation
- [museum name] -- Catalogs
- [collector's name] --Art Collection
Art Research Library Catalogs
Get help from Nimisha Bhat
Art Periodical Articles & Other Analytics
These databases provide access to articles, exhibition and book reviews, and reproductions published in scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, museum publications, and newspapers. Some also include books, exhibition catalogs, and other publications.
A complete list of Smith subscriptions to art and architecture journal databases is given on the Art & Architecture Subject Resources: Articles Tab.
International Bibliography of Art [ProQuest] 2008+
Indexes literature on post-classical western art plus global art since 1945 in core journals, books, conference proceedings & exhibition catalogues. See Bibliography of the History of Art for earlier years.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art 1975 to 2007
Indexes literature on post-classical western art in 2,500 periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations; with abstracts. See International Bibliography of Art for current coverage.
Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index [EBSCO]
Indexes 150 prominent art history journals published from the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries, with good coverage of American and European titles.
Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1929-1984
Includes articles, reviews, reproductions from more than 420 periodicals. Provides international coverage for all aspects of the visual arts.
ARTbibliographies Modern [ProQuest] 1974+
Covers late 19th- through 21st-century fine arts, decorative arts, design, and photography in periodicals, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and books published throughout the world.