Research Guides: THE252: Set Design I: Image Research: Magazines & News

Online News Sources

News Photos

AP Images [EBSCO] 1840+ This link opens in a new window
Easily search across 750,000+ images from the 1840s to the present. Also includes graphics, maps, illustrations, and logos dating back to the 1920s.

Historical Newspapers

A great source of descriptive information as well as editorial and advertising photos and illustrations.

Boston Globe [ProQuest] 1872+ MLIN This link opens in a new window
Chicago Defender Historical [ProQuest] 1905-1975 This link opens in a new window
Chicago Tribune Historical [ProQuest] 1849+ (lacks current 14 years) This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times Historical [ProQuest] 1881+ (subscription ends 08/01/2024) This link opens in a new window
New York Times Historical [ProQuest] 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) This link opens in a new window
Times (London) Digital Archive [Gale] (lacks current 6 years) This link opens in a new window
Washington Post Historical [ProQuest] 1877+ (subscription ends 07/01/2024) This link opens in a new window
Illustrated London News Historical Archive [Gale] 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window

Popular & Trade Magazines

Digital Facsimiles

Life Magazine Archive [EBSCO] 1936-2000 This link opens in a new window
Full text archive, 1936-2000.
Architectural Digest Archive [EBSCO] 1922-2011 This link opens in a new window
Full text archive, 1922-2011.
Harper's Bazaar Archive [ProQuest] 1867+ This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable, including every advertisement; chronicles the work of world-renowned designers, models, photographers, stylists & illustrators. Useful for topics in women’s studies, material culture, design, fashion, marketing, advertising, etc.
Vogue Archive [ProQuest] 1892+ This link opens in a new window
Entire run of the US edition, showcasing the work of the greatest designers, photographers, stylists & illustrators of the 20th & 21st centuries. Up until the 1920s, the focus was on society, not fashion.
Women's Magazine Archive [Proquest] This link opens in a new window
Contains (each from their start to 2005): Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parents; Redbook; Seventeen, Town and Country, Woman’s Day, and Women’s International Network News.

Print Back Issues

This is very selective list of long-running titles. Browse through the stacks in Hillyer near these call numbers for many more examples. You can also find more periodicals through the Five College Catalog.

General Interest

Colliers. 1895-1957. Periodicals AP2.C65
Fortune. 1930-date. Periodicals HF5001.F7
Life. 1936-1972. Periodicals AP2.L547
Saturday Evening Post. 1921-date. Periodicals AP 2.S2

Architecture & Interior Decoration

Architectural Forum. 1920-1973. Art Periodical NA1.B2
Architectural Record. 1981-date. Art Periodical NA1.A6
Arts & Decoration. 1919-1948. Art Periodical N1.A845
House Beautiful. 1897-2001. Art Periodical NA7100.H65
Interiors. 1940-1979. Art Periodical TS1300 .I67

Fashion & Women's Interests

Good Housekeeping. 1888-1992. Sophia Smith Collection
Harper’s Bazaar. 1867-1998. Art Periodical TT500.H3
The Ladies’ Home Journal. 1892-1992. Sophia Smith Collection
McCall’s. 1950-2001. Sophia Smith Collection
Vogue. 1950-date. Sophia Smith Collection

Special Resource:
Sears, Roebuck & Co. Catalogs

Ancestry (Library Edition) This link opens in a new window
Historic Catalogs of Sears, Roebuck and Co., 1896-1993. Digital version covers 1896–1993. Vol.102–228 K. To connect to the Sears catalogs, click on "Search" in the top menu bar, select "Browse Card Catalog" from the dropdown menu, enter "sears roebuck" into search by title box, click the enter button.

Call Number: 658 Se17
Print copies of Sears Roebuck catalogs.
Library has 1928-1967, 1978 (with many gaps). Issued twice a year.

More: Images in Print Periodicals

Illustration Index. New York : Scarecrow Press, 1957-1998.
Art Reference N7525 .I558 and Young Reference N7525 .I558
Indexes to specific images in well-illustrated popular periodicals like American Heritage, Smithsonian, National Geographic, and other titles.

THE252: Set Design I: Image Research: Magazines & News

Online News Sources

Popular & Trade Magazines

Special Resource:Sears, Roebuck & Co. Catalogs

More: Images in Print Periodicals

Special Resource:
Sears, Roebuck & Co. Catalogs