Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find scholarly articles on your topic, but not necessarily on legal aspects. Look for the scholarly, peer-reviewed limit.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage This link opens in a new windowCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowCore journals on gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, work, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.
Sociology Source Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text articles covering subjects such as gender identity, marriage & family, political sociology, etc.
GenderWatch [ProQuest] 1970+ This link opens in a new windowFull text publications on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
To search across multiple EBSCO databases with combined search results, use the "Choose Databases" option (above the advanced search boxes).
To save search strategies and your folder, create a personal login.
Finding Legal Research in Law Reviews
Law reviews "provide a starting place for legal research in an unfamiliar topic, and offer both an historical perspective as well as a statement of the current status of the law in a specific area. Authors document their articles thoroughly with footnotes, which a researcher can use to quickly locate cases and statutes (i.e. primary law sources) on point" (Boston College Law Library).
NexisUni: Law Reviews & Journals
Remember to use AND, OR, NOT to show relationships between the terms in your search. You can use SUMMARY to just search for your terms in the summary section of the article, which will help focus your search. Use ! for truncation.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels. Trial ends fall 2021. Please send feedback
Westlaw Campus Research (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
Smith students have access for legal and news searching. Westlaw includes Black's Law Dictionary under "secondary sources."