Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from many databases; find links to full text sources. Allows limiting by language, year, and peer-reviewed articles.
Find Articles using specific indexes: Limit to Spanish if possible
Use the buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new windowCovers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and other materials from 400+ journals, on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border & U.S. Hispanics.
America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new windowExtensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on literature, language,and more.
Illustrated Books - HathiTrust
Login for best results by choosing Smith as a partner institution.
Search for a place as "subject" term, and then limit by decade of publication or language. These are examples of books that are in the Full Text in Public Domain (freely accessed) or available to us through Temporary Access (online borrowing)
"Description and travel" "Pictorial works" and Atlases are words often found in the subject.
Ebooks from these collections are included in the Library catalog or Discover. This list provides alternate access points.
Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowA very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowFull text books & journals digitized by HathiTrust partner libraries, Google, the Internet Archive, etc. Includes searchable access to over 10 million volumes total; 3 million public domain volumes are fully viewable online and allow downloading one page at a time. Complements Google Books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Springer E-books 1815+ This link opens in a new window250,000 eBooks published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline, with some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy).
Get help from Sika Berger
Video: accessing HathiTrust e-books from the Smith Libraries catalog