Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CountryWatch 1993+ This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world including politics, economics, business, news and data.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers the government and economy of 250+ countries & territories, with directory information and statistical tables. Online version of Europa World Year Book and the regional surveys.
Ancestry (Library Edition) This link opens in a new window
Census, vital, church, court & immigration records for the US & UK, plus material on other areas. Major components: US federal census 1790-1940 (incl. manuscript returns); historical maps; Social Security Death Index; etc.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Indexes reference sources containing biographical entries on individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and region of the world.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, based on the Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers series.
Gale News Vault [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching for Gale's historical news products, including: 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Listener Historical Archive; Times Digital Archive; Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
Map it with Social Explorer
Watch a video on Getting Started in Social Explorer, using US Census and American Community Survey data.
Social Explorer 1790+ This link opens in a new window
Easy access to demographic information about the U.S. Off-campus users: first click in upper right corner - Professional Edition provided by Smith College - and create a personal account for full functionality.
Get help from Esther Roth-Katz