Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not at Smith? Getting Articles
Indexes to Art Journals & Magazines
Art Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Complement to Art Abstracts. Includes articles, reviews, reproductions from more than 420 periodicals. Provides international coverage for all aspects of the visual arts.
International Bibliography of Art [ProQuest] 2008+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on post-classical western art plus global art since 1945 in core journals, books, conference proceedings & exhibition catalogues. See Bibliography of the History of Art for earlier years.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art 1975 to 2007 This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on post-classical western art in 2,500 periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations; with abstracts. See International Bibliography of Art for current coverage.
ARTbibliographies Modern [ProQuest] 1974+ This link opens in a new window
Covers late 19th- through 21st-century fine arts, decorative arts, design, and photography in periodicals, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and books published throughout the world.
Art & Architecture/Articles
Library subject page includes links to major periodical indexes for art, architecture, and allied disciplines.